Which planet is the smallest in the solar?

The smallest planet in the Solar System is Mercury. It is the innermost and smallest of the eight planets, with an equatorial radius of 2,439. 7 km (1,516 mi). Mercury has a relatively large iron core, and a relatively thin silicate mantle.

Since the planet does not have a strong atmosphere and thus no weather patterns, it is covered in a thick layer of dust and regolith. Mercury has a very slow rotation (58. 6 Earth days) and only has a weak magnetic field, caused primarily by its iron core.

The surface of the planet is heavily cratered, indicating that it has been bombarded by asteroids and comets throughout its history. As a result of its close proximity to the Sun, temperatures on Mercury can reach extremely high levels.

The average temperature is around 166°C (327°F), although the dayside of the planet can reach temperatures of up to 427°C (800°F).

Which is smaller than Pluto?

There are currently five objects in the Solar System that are smaller than Pluto, all of them being distant, icy, and extremely hard to detect objects that reside in the Kuiper Belt. These are Eris, Makemake, Haumea, Sedna, and 2007 OR10.

Eris is the closest in size to Pluto and it is likely slightly larger. It was the largest object ever discovered in the Solar System aside from planets, first observed in 2003.

Makemake is the second largest, discovered in 2005. It is slightly smaller than Pluto, and takes about 310 years to orbit the Sun.

Haumea was discovered in 2004, and is an elongated, rotund, egg-shaped object. It has a lumpy surface, much like a potato, and has two small satellites that orbit it.

Sedna was discovered in 2004, and is the most distant of the Kuiper Belt objects, located at around three times farther away than Pluto. It is the slowest rotating of the five and has an orbit around the Sun that takes up to 11,400 years.

Finally, 2007 OR10 is the fourth largest, discovered in 2007. It is the biggest spherical body in the Solar System, and has two small moons that orbit it. It takes roughly 45,000 years to orbit the Sun.

Which is bigger Sun or Jupiter?

The Sun is much larger than Jupiter. The Sun has a diameter of 864,400 miles, which is 109 times larger than the diameter of Jupiter (which is 88,733 miles). In terms of mass, the Sun has a mass of 1.

989 x 10^30 kg, which is about 333,000 times larger than Jupiter’s mass of 1. 898 x 10^27 kg. The Sun is also much brighter than Jupiter and has a surface temperature of about 5,500°C compared to Jupiter’s temperature of about 1,300°C.

Who is bigger Russia or Pluto?

Neither Russia nor Pluto can be said to be “bigger,” as they are not comparable objects. Russia is the largest country in the world by land area, covering an estimated 17,098,242 square kilometers, while Pluto only measures around 2,390 kilometers in diameter.

The size of a country is typically measured in terms of land area, whereas the size of a planet is usually determined by its diameter. Ultimately, the answer to this question depends very much on the criteria being used.

What color is Pluto?

Pluto is an object in our solar system that has a reddish-brown coloration. It is often referred to as a “dwarf planet,” but is more accurately referred to as a “plutoid,” due to its size and composition.

Its surface composition consists mostly of nitrogen ice and methane ice, with lesser amounts of carbon monoxide ice and water ice, which is thought to account for its reddish hue. In addition, recent research has found complex hydrocarbon compounds in the icy surface material of Pluto’s atmosphere, also contributing to its reddish coloring.

What 3 planets are smaller than Earth?

The three planets that are smaller than Earth are Mercury, Venus, and Mars. Mercury is the smallest planet with a diameter of 4,878 km, followed by Venus at 12,104 km, and then Mars at 6,792 km. Earth has a diameter of approximately 12,742 km, making it larger than the other three terrestrial planets.

These four planets, Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, are known as the terrestrial planets because they all have solid surface features and are relatively close to the Sun. In comparison, the four giant planets in the Solar System—Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune—are much larger than the terrestrial planets and have mostly gaseous surface features.

What planet has 47 moons?

Saturn is the planet that has 47 moons. The four largest moons of Saturn, in order of size, are Titan, Rhea, Iapetus, and Dione. Out of Saturn’s 47 moons, 22 have been named, while the remaining ones have been designated with a numerical identifier.

The satellites of Saturn range in size from Enceladus, which is about 500km in diameter, to tiny moons only a few kilometers in diameter. Saturn’s moons also vary in composition and structure from rocky moons like Mimas to icy moons like Enceladus.

Saturn’s largest moon, Titan, is the only known moon in the Solar System to harbour a significant atmosphere and is larger than the planet Mercury. Saturn is also home to some very unusual moons such as Hyperion, with its chaotic rotation, and Phoebe, which orbits Saturn in the opposite direction to the other moons.

Leave a Comment